Milestone 20th Faldo Series season tees off in Middle East

25 March 2016

25 March 2016: The Faldo Series will be celebrating its 20th year in style with the Middle East Championship serving as the curtain-raiser for a historic milestone season. The tournament returns to Al Ain Equestrian, Shooting and Golf Club in Abu Dhabi on March 28-30, where five winners will join Sir Nick Faldo at the season-ending Grand Final.

A strong and talented field has assembled for the Seventh Faldo Series Middle East Championship. The tournament marks an incredible 20 years of opportunities and support for young golfers globally since the charity was set up in 1996 by six-time Major winner Sir Nick Faldo.

Since 1996 tens of thousands of young golfers have benefitted from Faldo Series initiatives around the world. Not least Faldo Series past winners including Major Champions Rory McIlroy and Yani Tseng, plus Tour winners Nick Dougherty, Oliver Fisher, Marc Warren, John Parry, Rashid Khan, Melissa Reid, Florentyna Parker and Carly Booth.

The 2016 Faldo Series European season will build and develop on the last 20 years as 15 tournaments take place in 12 countries. The Middle East Championship is supported for the first time, by the Emirates Golf Federation and the Abu Dhabi Sports Council.

“We are thrilled to host the Faldo Series Middle East Championship for the fourth year,” said Gavin Chappell, Golf Manager of Al Ain Equestrian, Shooting & Golf Club.  “The tournament attracts some extremely high quality golfers and is a great blend of local and international talent. I would like to thank the Emirates Golf Federation and Abu Dhabi Sports Council for coming on board, this support will give a great benefit to the local players in the region to sample a top quality event.”

Off the course the players will benefit from time with Faldo’s personal coach Keith Wood. Keith will assist the players and conduct clinics for the duration of the week. The renowned coach will also run another clinic for schoolchildren local to Al-Ain.

Recognised as the only global amateur series for boys and girls, the Faldo Series was established in 1996, expanding to Asia in 2006.

Today, 40 Faldo Series tournaments take place in 30-plus countries worldwide, touching thousands of golfers each year. Past winners include Major Champions Tseng Ya-ni and Rory McIlroy, who took his tally of professional Major titles to four with his wins at the 2014 Open Championship and US PGA Championship.

You can follow the Faldo Series on Facebook at and on Twitter at