Glory for Williamson at Lough Erne

15 April 2016

15 April 2016: Rory Williamson of Holywood Golf Club has won the Faldo Series Ireland Championship by a single shot on the Faldo Course. Williamson fired rounds of 71 & 69 to hold off the fierce challenges of Shane Mcdermott and Jamie Fletcher, who finished in joint second place overall.

96 golfers played the renowned Faldo Course at Lough Erne Golf Resort, with the five category winners qualifying for the 20th Faldo Series Grand Final. Williamson will be very satisfied with his final round; in particular his back nine and birdies on 17 & 18 to get him home in 32. The score made all the more impressive by the pressure being exerted from the chasing pack.

Williamson won the Boys’ Under-21 by a single stroke but the Boys’ Under-18 was more conclusive. Peter Cummins (Lurgan) has showcased his talent in the Faldo Series previously, and so it was again as he shot 75 & 70 to win by 4 strokes. Cummins was able to seize the birdie chances on the back nine to post a great score on the testing Faldo Designed layout.

Eoin Murphy (Dundalk) was the victor in the Boys’ Under-16 division. He claimed the spoils by four shots over Conor Glennon (Glasson). Murphy’s rounds of 74 & 70 at such a venue will fill him with confidence. Murphy’s efforts also grant him qualification to his first Faldo Series Grand Final. 

The Girls’ Under-21 category was claimed by Mary Doyle (The Heath) by five shots over Maeve Cummins. Doyle was able to lead from start to finish in rounds of 74 & 77. The Girls’ Under 16 division was a closer affair as Anna Foster of Elm Park edged out Kate Dwyer by a single shot. Foster headed home in 33 on the final day to take the glory. Doyle and Maeve Cummins qualified for the Grand Final later this year as leading girls.

Recognised as the only global amateur series for boys and girls, the Faldo Series was established in 1996, expanding to Asia in 2006.

Today, 40 Faldo Series tournaments take place in 30-plus countries worldwide, touching thousands of golfers each year. Past winners include Major Champions Tseng Ya-ni and Rory McIlroy, who took his tally of professional Major titles to four with his wins at the 2014 Open Championship and US PGA Championship.

Leading final scores:

Boys’ Under-21:

140 – Rory Williamson (Holywood) 71-69

141 – Shane Mcdermott (Cavan Golf Club) 72-69, Jamie Richard Fletcher (Warrenpoint) 70-71

Boys’ Under 18:

145 – Peter Cummins (Lurgan) 75-70

149 – Paddy Culhane (Galway G.c) 74-75, Robert Moran (Castle) 75-74

Boys’ Under 16:

144 – Eoin Murphy (Dundalk) 74-70

148 – Conor Glennon (Glasson) 72-76

Girls’ Under 21:

151 - Mary Doyle (The Heath) 74-77

156 – Maeve Cummins (Lurgan) 79-77

For full scores and results from the Faldo Series Ireland Championship visit  You can also follow the Faldo Series on Facebook at and on Twitter at