Faldo Series heads to the Middle East

27 March 2017

27 March 2017: The Faldo Series returns to Al Ain Equestrian, Shooting and Golf Club in Abu Dhabi on March 28-30, where five winners will join Sir Nick Faldo at the season-ending Grand Final.

Players will enjoy the challenge of a redesigned front nine with the 2017 event at Al Ain boasting representation from 20 countries. Local youngsters will benefit as Sir Nick Faldo’s personal coach Keith Wood is on hand all week to provide clinics for the players and local schoolchildren from the city of Al Ain.

Scotland’s Alison Muirfield is an accomplished veteran of the Faldo Series and will have aspirations of victory on the Championship course. She will have to be at her best however, to defeat defending champion Mikkel Mathiesen. Denmark’s Mathiesen dominated the event in 2016 with a masterclass containing three rounds of 69.

“The Middle East Championship at Al Ain presents a great opportunity for the players in the region to showcase their talents. It is an important tournament as we look to grow golf globally through the Series,” said Sir Nick Faldo. “I thank Al Ain Equestrian, Shooting and Golf Club and the Emirates Golf Federation for their continued support.

“The Faldo Series Middle East Championship is one of the highlights of our golfing schedule, and we’re proud to mark five years of hosting a Faldo Series event here this week,” said Gavin Chappell, Golf Manager of Al Ain Equestrian, Shooting & Golf Club.  “I believe this is the number one event for young golfers in the region and we are certain the players will enjoy the great condition the course is in, along with the recently redesigned front nine holes, and the whole experience of the event.”

The field will be divided into five age-groups – three for boys and two for girls – and the winners of each division will again join Faldo at the season-ending 21st Faldo Series Grand Final, a 54-hole World Amateur Golf Ranking event.

Today, 40 Faldo Series tournaments take place in 30-plus countries worldwide, touching thousands of golfers each year. Past winners include Major Champions Tseng Ya-ni and Rory McIlroy, who took his tally of professional Major titles to four with his wins at the 2014 Open Championship and US PGA Championship.

For more information on the Faldo Series visit You can also follow the Faldo Series on Facebook at and on Twitter at