Faldo Series delight for Davidson at Panmure

27 June 2014

27 June 2014: Andrew Davidson of Charleton won the Faldo Series Scotland Championship by two shots to secure a spot in his second successive Grand Final. The 20-year-old closed with a one-over par round of 71 to win by two from overnight co-leaders Niall Mcmullen (Lundin) and Calum Fyfe (Cawder).

“I’m buzzing to be going back to The Greenbrier, I can’t wait,” said an elated Davidson. “This win gets me a World Amateur Golf Ranking too, which was one of my main goals at the start of the season.”

Davidson will be joined at The Greenbrier by Matthew Dalrymple (Lochwinnoch), winner of the Boy’s Under-16 division and Niall Mcmullen, who birdied the fifth extra hole in an epic sudden death play-off to pip Calum Fyfe to the Boys’ Under-18 title.

The final two qualifying spots went to 2013 Faldo finalist Shannon Williams (Aboyne), who recorded a hole-in-one on route to a second place finish in the Girls’ division and Minto’s Tara Mactaggart, the winner by one shot.

Supported by The R&A, ISPS Handa, The European Tour and The Greenbrier the 2014 Faldo Series Europe schedule features 17 tournaments in 15 countries including three in England plus others in Abu Dhabi, Ireland, Chile, Wales, Brazil, Scotland, Czech Republic, Italy, Austria, Netherlands, Germany, Poland, Slovakia and the USA.

Established in 1996, 40 Faldo Series tournaments now take place in 30 countries worldwide with more than 7,000 golfers participating each year.  Past winners include Major Champions Rory McIlroy and Yani Tseng.

Leading final scores:

Boys’ Under-21:

212 – Andrew Davidson (Charleton) 72-69-71

215 – George Duncan (Windyhill) 73-70-72

223 – Ben Craggs (Glenbervie) 76-73-74, Cameron Buist (Glenbervie) 70-76-77

Boys’ Under-18:

214 – Niall Mcmullen (Lundin) 68-71-75, Calum Fyfe (Cawder) 69-70-75

215 – Michael Brodie (Strathmore) 73-68-74

Boys’ Under-16:

219 – Matthew Dalrymple (Lochwinnoch) 74-73-72

220 – Glen Burrett (Haggs Castle) 75-74-71

224 – Callum Bruce (Duff House Royal) 72-73-79


234 – Tara Mactaggart (Minto) 75-79-80

235 – Shannon Mcwilliam (Aboyne) 82-75-78

240 – Kirsty Brodie (Strathmore) 79-80-81, Natasha Slater (Furness) 76-83-81

For full scores and results from the Faldo Series Scotland Championship visit You can also follow the Faldo Series on Facebook at and on Twitter at